Follow Vogue Arabia

Introducing The Fashion Award’s 2019 Nominees

Model Naomi Campbell

Naomi Campbell. Photo: Filippo Fior/

On December 2, London’s Royal Albert Hall will play host to the annual Fashion Awards. Based on the just-announced nominees, this year’s ceremony promises plenty of excitement. Vying for brand of the year are Bottega Veneta, Gucci, Jacquemus, Loewe, and Prada, with each brand nominated in other categories as well. Model of the year is also sure to be a tight race with last year’s winner Kaia Gerber going up against Adut Akech, Adesuwa Aighewi, Adwoa Aboah, and Winnie Harlow.

In addition to welcoming back repeat nominees, the list of finalists also has some new names. Kiko Kostadinov womenswear designers Laura and Deanna Fanning are nominated for the first time in the emerging womenswear category. Aries designer Sofia Prantera is also a new addition in the emerging menswear list, as is Alighieri’s Rosh Mahtani for the emerging womenswear group. Stephanie Phair, the chair of the British Fashion Council, said in a release, “I would like to congratulate all the nominees of the Fashion Awards 2019. Each and every one of them is being recognized for their creative excellence and innovation. I look forward to celebrating them alongside the rest of the industry from across the globe on the [second] of December at the Royal Albert Hall.”

The nominees were chosen based upon votes from more than 2,500 industry members and will be joined on stage by this year’s honorees: fashion icon Naomi Campbell and outstanding achievement award winner Giorgio Armani. One question: How will guests get from London on the evening of the second to Kim Jones’s Dior Men show in Miami on December 3? Expect Heathrow to look more like a fashion show than normal that morning.

Accessories Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior Men
Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

Brand of the Year
Bottega Veneta

British Designer of the Year, Menswear
Craig Green for Craig Green
Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner
Kim Jones for Dior Men
Martine Rose for Martine Rose
Riccardo Tisci for Burberry

British Designer of the Year, Womenswear
Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
John Galliano for Maison Margiela
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson & Loewe
Richard Quinn for Richard Quinn
Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha

British Emerging Talent, Menswear
Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty for Cottweiler
Bethany Williams for Bethany Williams
Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov
Phoebe English for Phoebe English
Sofia Prantera for Aries

British Emerging Talent, Womenswear
Laura and Deanna Fanning for Kiko Kostadinov
Matty Bovan for Matty Bovan
Phoebe English for Phoebe English
Rejina Pyo for Rejina Pyo
Rosh Mahtani for Alighieri

Business Leader
Alexandre Arnault for Rimowa
José Neves for Farfetch
Marco Bizzarri for Gucci
Marco Gobbetti for Burberry
Remo Ruffini for Moncler

Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson & Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior Men
Miuccia Prada for Prada

Model of the year
Adesuwa Aighewi
Adut Akech
Adwoa Aboah
Kaia Gerber
Winnie Harlow

Urban luxe
Marine Serre
Martine Rose
Moncler Genius

Originally published on

Read Next: Exclusive: How Iris Van Herpen is Paving the Way for Never-Before-Seen Haute Couture

View All
Vogue Collection